pISSN 0705-3797 eISSN 2586-1298
HOME Article View


Episodes 2007; 30(4): 287-289

Published online December 1, 2007


Copyright © International Union of Geological Sciences.

Global standard names for the Lowermost Cambrian Series and Stage

Ed Landing1, Shanchi Peng2, Loren E. Babcock3, Gerd Geyer4, Malgorzata Moczydlowska-Vidal5

1New York State Museum, Madison Avenue, Albany, New York 12230, USA. Email: elanding@mail.nysed.gov
2State Key Laboratory of Stratigraphy and Palaeobiology, Nanjing Institute of Geology and Palaeontology, 39 East Beijing Road, Nanjing 210008, China. Email: scpeng@nignas.ac.cn
3School of Earth Sciences, The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio 43210, USA. Email: babcock.5@osu.edu
4Institut für Paläontologie, Bayerische Julius-Maximillians-Universität, Pleicherwall 1, D97070 Würzburg, Germany. Email: gerd.geyer@mail.uni-wuerzburg.de
5Department of Earth Sciences, Uppsala University, Norbyvägen 22, Sweden. Email: malgo.vidal@uu.se

This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/4.0) which permits unrestricted non-commercial use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited.


The GSSP marking the base of the Cambrian System was ratified by the IUGS in 1992. Ratification of the GSSP point at the base of the Trichophycus pedum Ichnozone in the Fortune Head section, eastern Newfoundland, Canada, automatically defined the conterminant base of the lowermost series and stage of the Cambrian although names for those subdivisions were not proposed at the time of the decision. In 2007, the IUGS ratified the names Terreneuvian Series and Fortunian Stage for these previously unnamed chronostratigraphic subdivisions. The Terreneuvian Series replaces the provisional name “Series 1,” and the Fortunian Stage replaces the provisional name “Stage 1,” of the Cambrian System.